关于Xtacking

Xtacking®创新架构使3D NAND能拥有更快的I/O接口速度

采用Xtacking®,可在一片晶圆上独立加工负责数据I/O及记忆单元操作的外围电路。这样的加工方式有利于选择合适的先进逻辑工艺,以让NAND获取更高的I/O接口速度及更多的操作功能。存储单元同样也将在另一片晶圆上被独立加工。当两片晶圆各自完工后,创新的Xtacking®技术只需一个处理步骤就可通过数十亿根金属VIA(Vertical Interconnect Accesses,垂直互联通道)将二者键合接通电路,而且只增加了有限的成本。

Xtacking®创新架构使3D NAND能拥有更高的存储密度

传统3D NAND架构中,外围电路约占芯片面积的20~30%,降低了芯片的存储密度。随着3D NAND技术堆叠到128层甚至更高,外围电路可能会占到芯片整体面积的50%以上。Xtacking®技术将外围电路置于存储单元之上,从而实现比传统3D NAND更高的存储密度。

Xtacking®:模组化的工艺将提升研发效率并缩短生产周期

Xtacking®技术充分利用存储单元和外围电路的独立加工优势,实现了并行的、模块化的产品设计及制造,产品开发时间可缩短三个月,生产周期可缩短20%,从而大幅缩短3D NAND产品的上市时间。此外,这种模块化的方式也为引入NAND外围电路的创新功能以实现NAND闪存的定制化提供了可能。

About Xtacking

XtackingTM enables DRAM-like high I/O speed

With XtackingTM, the periphery circuits which handle data I/O as well as memory cell operations are processed on a separate wafer using the logic technology node that enables the desired I/O speed and functions. Once the processing of the array wafer is completed, the two wafers are connected electrically through millions of metal VIAs (Vertical Interconnect Accesses) that are formed simultaneously across the whole wafer in one process step, using the innovative XtackingTM technology, with limited increase in total cost.

XtackingTM enables higher array efficiency

In the conventional 3D NAND architecture, the periphery circuits take up ~20-30% of the die area, lowering NAND bit density. As 3D NAND technology continues to progress to 128 layers and above, the periphery circuits will likely take up more than 50% of the total die area. With XtackingTM, the periphery circuits are now above the array chip, enabling much higher NAND bit density than conventional 3D NAND.

XtackingTM: Modular approach to accelerate process development and shorten manufacturing cycle time

XtackingTMtechnology utilizes fully independent processing of the array and periphery, which offers a modularized, parallel approach to product development and manufacturing, reducing product development time by at least three months and shortening manufacturing cycle time by 20%, significantly accelerating 3D NAND time-to-market. This modular approach also opens possibilities for customized NAND flash solutions by the incorporation of innovative functionalities in the periphery.